About the Texas Chapter

Regions and Districts

The Texas Chapter is divided into two regions, Northern and Southern, with a Governor elected from each region. The chapter Board of Directors determines the division of the regions into districts to provide for equal representation. Twelve of the fifteen Directors are elected from the four geographic districts of the state and three at large. Districts are divided by zip code according to the following:

Northwest: 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799

Northeast: 750 751 752 753 754 755 756 757 759

Southwest: 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789

Southeast: 758 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778

General Internal Medicine Statewide Preceptorship Program

One of the strengths of the Texas chapter is the General Internal Medicine Statewide Preceptorship Program. Begun as a pilot project in 1992 with five medical students at one Texas medical school, it has grown to a participation of more than 130 medical students each year and expanded to include students from all nine Texas medical schools. The Texas legislature provides a limited grant to fund professional administration of the program, faculty development, reimbursement to the students for their expenses, recruitment efforts for both students and physician preceptors, and more.

Participating students are usually completing their first or second year of medical school. The Preceptorship Program targets students early in their training in an effort to increase interest in internal medicine. Outcomes studies show that students are choosing careers in internal medicine following participation in an internal medicine preceptorship.

SAFE Opioid Prescribing: Strategies. Assessment. Fundamentals. Education

ACP offers a FREE program to help. Learn more here



Member Feedback Requested on ACP Resolutions

The 2019 Fall BOG Meeting is in September and members are encouraged to provide feedback via chapter survey by August 31.

Mark Your Calendar!

Texas Chapter Annual Scientific Meeting
October 25-27, 2019, JW Marriott San Antonio