TXACP Chapter Awards

section navigation

TXACP Chapter Awards
TXACP Awards Brochure
Texas Chapter Laureates
Volunteerism and Community Service Awards
Early Career Physician Leader of the Year
GIMSPP Decade of Service Award
GIMSPP Emerald Award
TXACP Services Snyder/Chumley Advocate of the Year Award
ACP Chapter Centennial Legacy Award

Texas Chapter Awards

We need your help to discover your colleagues’ outstanding professional accomplishments and altruistic generosity. Recognize your colleagues today!

Nominations must include:

  • Nomination letter
  • Candidate CV
  • Letters of support encouraged

Questions? Please call the chapter office at 512-370-1528.

The Texas Chapter Laureate Award honors Fellows and Masters of ACP who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research, and service to their communities, Chapter, and the College. The recipient of this award shall bear the title Laureate of the Texas Chapter. The awardees shall be senior physicians and Fellows or Masters of long-standing, with acknowledged excellence and peer approval in the field of internal medicine. In addition, the awardees should have served their Chapter with distinction. Exceptional circumstances may modify these requirements.

The Texas Chapter Volunteerism and Community Service Award recognizes a Master, Fellow, Resident, or member of ACP for significant community impact through their medically related volunteer service. Awardees must have displayed service on a completely voluntary basis and not required for the completion of teaching, training, or position requirements. Volunteer work must have been done as a physician and be medically related. Recipients of this award have distinguished themselves as true humanitarians to be honored for their voluntary contributions in medicine. Please note, self nominations are not permitted for this award.

The Council of Early Career Physician of the Year Award honors an active ACP member with high intellect and leadership skills, who is respected among his/her peers and has been in practice for at least ten years after residency. Recipients of this award will be recognized for their outstanding achievement in the areas of academics, leadership and/or advocacy for the field of internal medicine. An early career physician includes members who are within 16 years of completion of medical school.

The Andy Diehl On Being a Doctor Essay Award is presented to   an ACP Resident or Medical Student Member in recognition of his/her  winning written prose or poetry. The winning author is invited to  present an oral presentation at the annual meeting during the General Session. Residents and Medical Students will receive an invitation to submit entries for consideration.

The Snyder/Chumley Advocate of the Year Award is presented by TXACP Services, the advocacy arm of the Texas Chapter of the ACP, to a chapter member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the areas of legislative advocacy and grassroots activism. The awardee must be a registered Key Contact who has consistently communicated concerns on behalf of the TXACP Services to elected officials on issues and served as a community spokesperson on behalf of internal medicine and patients. In addition, this person has expanded the Chapter's advocacy program, recruited new Key Contacts, and actively participated in Leadership Day visits and/or other meetings with legislators and staff.

All Nominations for Chapter awards must include a detailed letter of recommendation and curriculum vitae; additional letters of support are welcome.

Send nominations to: Texas Chapter of the American College of Physicians, Awards and Recognitions Committee, 401 W. 15th St., Austin, TX 78701; or e-mail to nicole.abbott@texmed.org


SAFE Opioid Prescribing: Strategies. Assessment. Fundamentals. Education

ACP offers a FREE program to help. Learn more here



Member Feedback Requested on ACP Resolutions

The 2019 Fall BOG Meeting is in September and members are encouraged to provide feedback via chapter survey by August 31.

Mark Your Calendar!

Texas Chapter Annual Scientific Meeting
October 25-27, 2019, JW Marriott San Antonio